Home > Technology > What brought me back to twitter

What brought me back to twitter

The first time I visited Twitter I didn’t think it was a very interesting website. I created my account, but I simply didn’t have time to update it by saying what I was doing. He who tweets about the daily grind or the trivial facts of an ordinary day has got too much time in his hands, if you ask me. In addition to that, I didn’t know many people on Twitter from my social network, which rendered it even more useless to me. Whenever I talked to someone about it, the answer was, more often than not, ‘Tweet who?’

Fortunately, I’ve decided to give Twitter a new lease of life. Twitter has turned out to be a great asset for my PLN (Personal Learning Network) and it’s helped me connect with people I’d never dream of. The idea of sharing thoughts and opinions with people from different places in the world has definitely made me change my mind. I’ve got to thank many people in my PLN for that change of attitude, and you can read what they have to say about Twitter by following their blogs (check the “blogs to follow” to your right).

Anyway, today I also participated in my first #edchat. “What is #edchat?” you ask me? Well, I won’t even bother to come up with an explanation when you can find all you’ll need to know here. Tonight’s conversation was about how administrators could evaluate tech in teaching. Needless to say, with teachers and educators from all walks of life, the conversation was fruitful and engaging. A bit hard to follow, that’s true, but still, lots of interesting insights. Oh, not to mention the number of like-minded people you can add to your own PLN.

What about you? Do you tweet? Why is it that more and more people are talking about twitter these days? How do you use twitter? How important is it for any professional to develop their own PLN these days?

The world is out there, and it’s easier than ever for you to go and get it.

Categories: Technology Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,451 other followers

