Home > Uncategorized > 2009 wrap-up

2009 wrap-up

2009 has been a nice year. Even though I had to go through some problems, mainly professional problems, in the first half of the year, I believe the year has brought more good things than bad ones. In a nutshell, these are some of my highlights:

- I’ve finally found the time to look after myself. I joined a gym, started eating properly and I hope to keep doing that in 2010. (OK, the very end of the year doesn’t really count, right?) Goal for 2010 – lose 12 more kilos, restart playing basketball, and go to the gym regularly.

- I’ve made my debut in the blogosphere. This is something I’d been thinking about for years, but now it’s finally happened mainly because of all the other great bloggers I met. I also intend to keep it going in 2010. I know I still have to work on lots of things if I want to become a good blogger, and I’ll try to do that in 2010. However, I’ll not lose sight of the reasons why I first decided to create the blog. I’m actually surprised with the results. I didn’t expect to have had more than 500 visits by the end of the year. However, the most important thing was the number of comments and the conversations I had with some of the ‘readers’. There was even a response post to one of my entries. These were the things that gave me the strength to keep writing. Thank you all.

- I’ve given twitter a second chance and created my PLN. I’ve been in touch with great educators ever since and started sharing with them. Slowly, I know I’m building a meaningful PLN for me. No need to desperately try to find followers or to follow people who aren’t going to contribute to my growth. Goal for 2010? Try to show more and more people the power of PLN and help them connect with people that matters.

- I’ve started the wiki project I had in mind for a couple of years now, and I got some teachers on board to help me out. We’re still putting some ideas together so that we can start it with our students in March. Thank you for all teachers who joined me, and those who are thinking about joining it are all welcome. One of the goals of the project is to get our students to start their own PLNs and make friends with people from different backgrounds.

- I’ve ‘met’ wonderful people online, and had the chance to skype with a couple of them. I hope this will happen more often in 2010.

- The MA is still a concern. Running a school and studying at the same time hasn’t been an easy task, but so far I’ve managed to do it quite well.

- 2010 is set to be a very promising year!!!

This blog will not be updated for a couple of weeks due to the holidays, but I’ll be back in the beginning of 2010, and I sure hope to see you all here, on Twitter, on your blogs, face to face conferences and what have you. I thank you all for showing me how to effectively integrate technology in my learning.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!

  1. December 23, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Your blog reflects many of my own reflections on 2009 and aspirations for 2010. As ever, I feel both very attracted to the new, wonderful international possibilities of blogging and 2.0 technologies for teachers. And, time remains precious. How does one balance a vigorous working schedule (4 university classes in my case), reflection time, writing, and connecting with other ESL/EFL professionals? Balance is hard to find – and maintain.

    Having said all that, I’ll be watching and perhaps joining your Wiki efforts. You are doing important work.

    Good luck in 2010. Let’s hope we can smile more and sigh less!

    • December 23, 2009 at 5:55 pm

      Hi Eric,

      I’ve been trying to find an answer to your question for a while now. Finding the balance is not easy at all! But I’m sure we’ll get the hang of it – or at least that’s what I hope will happen. Never before has it been so easy to keep studying and learning, but never before has it been so hard to find the time to do so.

      I hope you join the wiki. The more teachers, the easier it’ll be for us to anticipate possible glitches and work on clear instructions for our learners.

      All the best for you in 2010 too!

  2. December 23, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Nice wrap up Henrick,

    Enjoyed it very much and have enjoyed having you in my PLN.

    Me 2 btw, joined the Gym with same goal of losing some of the kilos that came out of going online (I have a website as well and well…)

    Here’s to us in 2010 and looking forward to more collaboration and learning with you. I read your post and call for students to work together – am off now until late Jan, but I will put the idea to my students to see what they think: at the moment our blogs are private as is our wiki… so not sure but will ask.

    Take care,
    Karenne

    • December 23, 2009 at 6:01 pm

      Hi Karenne,

      You’ve been one of the main influences I had in giving this online world a second chance, so I’m also very much looking forward to all the sharing, learning and collaboration in 2010!

      Even if your students are not willing to join the wiki at this moment, you’re more than welcome to join us and help with the teachers’ wiki. We need to find out what we’re likely to encounter when we try it with our students, right?

      I haven’t had any time to actually go to the gym in December – turns out simply paying for it doesn’t do the trick. :) Next year we can encourage each other to go to the gym and reach our goals, right?

      Merry Christmas and a Wonderful 2010!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,451 other followers

