Home > PLN > Hidden gems – The blogosphere revisited

Hidden gems – The blogosphere revisited

A while ago, Darren wrote a post claiming that theres a vast pool of human knowledge that’s been neglected. On his post he asked us to revisit some of the blogs we usually visit and find some #hiddengems (twitter hashtag) to make the topic active again. Even though when I commented I said I was going to do my homework, this doesn’t feel like homework. I can still remember a couple of blogposts from my early days here, and I just need to spot them again. Here goes:

1. On books, publishers & teachers – This is a post by Gavin Dudeney and he puts forth some interesting ideas regarding, well, books and publishers. I’ve already had the chance to talk to some people about such ideas, and most seem to find them quite sound. I wonder whether publishing houses think the same…

2. None for the teacher, none for the students?Jim Burke talks about his experience with blogs and using blogs with students. There’s also a file to download with some guidelines so you can do the same thing with your students.

3. Thoughts on assessment 1: a responseGreg Thompson writes about rethinking school and other educational matters on his blog. His blog posts are always thought-provoking and insightful. This piece is one I like for two reasons: his sound ideas and arguments, and also because this was the first post written in response to one of my posts. It certainly was responsible for truly making me feel part of the blogosphere. I don’t think I ever got to thank Greg properly, so here it is! I hope he’s still following my blog.

4. Highly qualified teachers: who’s paying for it? – I really enjoy the personal tone Mary Beth Hertz puts in her blog posts. In this particular piece, she writes about teacher qualification and makes us think about something we all know – teacher’s pay checks. I’ve had the chance to meet many teachers who said they wouldn’t bother improving because they wouldn’t be recognised for their efforts and if they’re not going to be paid more, why should they spend more on qualification… people who have found themselves in any profession will go out of their way to do what it takes to become better professionals. This is what MB has done.

5. Thank you so much!Nick Jaworski‘s blog has been on my blogroll from the very beginning. This post is a good example of how joining the blogosphere and interacting online can help in one’s growth. If only more people could understand that spending time on blogs and twitter (to name but a few) isn’t a waste of time…

So, these are my #hiddengems. I hope you’ll also benefit from any of these posts. :)

  1. June 6, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Ha! I was just talking about this exact Gavin Dudeney post this morning and just now really enjoyed the visit to Jim Burke’s piece. The wee trip down memory lane to Nick’s old one was touching… how far we’ve all grown, eh?

    This hidden gem thing really does uncover the gold! Thanks :)

    K

    • June 6, 2010 at 3:08 pm

      Hi K,

      Gavins post should be read by more and more people involved in the publishing industry. I was trying to put together a booklet for a teacher training course and the fact that I couldn’t do that really annoyed me. Well, maybe they feel they’re making more money by making things difficult…

      I’d been trying to find the time to do my list for ages! I’m just glad I could do it! It sure uncovers gold!

      Always a pleasure to read your comments here! :)

  2. June 7, 2010 at 5:30 am

    Sorry I don’t comment more often… always seem to chasing stuff, but read your work always :)

    • June 10, 2010 at 10:47 pm

      Oh, thanks for being so considerate! :)

      I do know exactly what it is you’re talking about. I’ve been pretty busy myself lately…

  3. June 10, 2010 at 1:50 am

    I just got here through the ELT Random Blog generator (Alex Case just commented that he got to my blog through it). That’s one way to dig through blogs… http://eflclassroom.com/randomeltblog.html

    My fav. blog post of all time was written by a h.s. student. Outstanding wisdom about education. How to Prevent Another Leonardo Da Vinci. http://wanderingink.wordpress.com/2007/05/23/how-to-prevent-another-leonardo-da-vinci/

    I also recommend some of Rinvolucri’s old blog posts about storytelling. Well written and insightful. http://www.teachingenglish.org.uk/blogs/mario-rinvolucri?page=1

    David

    • June 10, 2010 at 10:48 pm

      Hi David,

      The random blog generator is absolutely wonderful! We end up visiting blogs we normally wouldn’t, and this does bring some nice surprises.

      Thanks for the links you shared! :)

  1. June 6, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,445 other followers

