Home > General thoughts > 3rd Virtual Round Table – My presentation

3rd Virtual Round Table – My presentation

It was really exciting and a great pleasure for me to have had the chance to present at the 3rd edition of the Virtual Round Table, which is a brilliantly event that is held twice a year. I was fortunate enough as well to have the chance to talk about a topic I really enjoy – professional development and technology – in two recent talks. I’ve got to admit that due to the amount of work that I’ve been up to lately, it was actually a relief to be able to talk about something so dear to me – it made it a lot easier.

It was also my very first online presentation. It felt good. However, I must say I missed the rapport with the audience a bit – being able to look at people and respond to they way they’re behaving while you’re talking, responding to your audience is still something I enjoy doing. So, needless to say, I was rather nervous on the day of the presentation. Another concern for me was whether or not I’d be preaching to the choir or not. Fortunately, there were a couple of people I’d never actually met, but they certainly made me feel like there were some friendly ‘faces’ in the room. It did help lowering the tension a tad.

If you haven’t had the chance to attend any of the wonderful sessions, you can still watch all of the recordings – been doing that myself. You won’t regret it. You can find the full list of presentations/recordings here.

In case you’d like to watch my presentation, just click here. Feel free to leave any kind of comment about it! Feedback is always appreciated. :)

Categories: General thoughts Tags: ,
  1. October 14, 2010 at 12:02 pm | #1

    Hi Henrick,

    Great presentation! I have just finished watching it. I found it really interesting and helpful! I started my blog one month ago. I started it because I want to grow personally and professionally. I agree with what you said, we should never stop learning.
    Thanks for the mention! I’m so honored!

    Greta

    • October 14, 2010 at 12:28 pm | #2

      Hi Greta,

      I’m happy to hear you liked the presentation. I’m also happy to hear you liked the fact that I used your quote on this presentation. I’ve used all of the others in a different presentation, but I had to cut this one short in some areas. :)

      Blogs are indeed a great way for us to reflect, share, and develop. I’m sure you’ll have a blast! :)

  2. October 14, 2010 at 11:40 pm | #3

    Hey Rick! Really nice presentation! I liked to see you remembered us! =D
    I just wanted to say that I love your ideas on how to use technology to teach. Especially the blog project. It is a little easier for me since I alread had a blog, but it helped me to start writing on it again hahaha
    I think writing this blog have been helping me to reflect on what I do, about my own studying methodology (this is were my post about writing came from =D. Also, this blog project has, sowmehow, been stimulating me to study more =P
    Well, I might have something else to say, but it’s late and I’m not thinking straight, so, I’ll just stop it here for now.

    See ya!
    Shimabuko

    • October 19, 2010 at 9:13 pm | #4

      Hi Shimabuko,

      Thanks so much for your kind words! I simply couldn’t have forgotten to talk about you guys during the presentation. :)

      It is really nice of you to share the benefits you see in this blogging project. Writing is indeed a great reflection tool, and what are we doing if we don’t reflect upon our deeds and thoughts, huh?! It’s also good to hear it’s been pushing your studies even further.

      Cheers!
      Rick

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,438 other followers

