Home > Activities, Education, PLN > Care to join me?

Care to join me?

Even though things have been a lot quieter than I wanted them to be, I’ve been doing lots of thinking lately. There are many posts yet to come in response to other blog posts I’ve read, and a couple of extra material on the way. This semester’s been particularly busy as I’ve taken up some new responsibilities, and I’m still getting used to the new workload. It’s all falling into place, and I hope I’ll soon be able to resume my writing on the blog.

If we all contribute our piece to the puzzle, we'll get there much faster. // Photo by Bruce Guenter

However, I’m writing this quick blog post as a call for collaboration. Last year I wrote a post asking for the same thing. A couple of teachers responded to it and we even started planning things, but it never took off. Regardless of this unsuccessful experience, I asked my students to create a wiki page on topics of their interest and, closer to the end of the year, I was joined by a teacher in Atlanta and we could actually put our students to work together. It was a wonderful experience for students, albeit short.

Nevertheless, it was enough to give me some practice and also to spot some problems that came up and think of strategies to solve them. This year, I again call for the collaboration of teachers interested in getting their EFL/ESL learners to collaborate with our class in Brazil. I’m trying to keep things simple, and they seem to be working all right. I’ll also introduce new tools for students to work with as time goes by and more people join in. The idea is for learners to practise using English in an authentic and meaningful environment.

Our learners are from all different levels – A1 to B2 in the CEF, or beginners to upper-intermediate – and they have been told they are to work together to get their message across. Anyway, in case you are interested in joining, pay a visit to our wiki: http://crossculturalelt.wikispaces.com and send me an email (henrick.oprea@gmail.com) or a message on FaceBook.

Teachers who join are free to work in any way that suits his or her needs, be it for assessing students or simply giving them a chance to talk to people from different cultures. They may also choose to help me with the organisation of the wiki and the tasks or not – no need to worry about extra work on our already over-worked lives! :)

Once you join, I’ll also ask you for the logo of your school to add to the main page.

  1. March 26, 2011 at 3:13 am

    Hi!
    I just came accross your blog for the first time today. Nice! I wonder what age groups you’d want to collaborate with? I teach ESL (Language Arts) to grade 8 and am interested in exchange in the fall semester (so not now – in Turkey the studens are now busy preparing for the high shool entrance exams). Perhaps we could work something out? I work at a private k-8 school in İzmir, Turkey called SEV.

    Looking forward to hearing from you!
    :-)Karin

    • March 27, 2011 at 10:20 pm

      Hi Karin,

      I’ve just paid a visit to your blog as well. Quite a nice job you’ve been doing there. It’d be great to have you onboard on this project. My students range from 15 to 17 years old – some of them are senior students in high school. When it comes to their English language level, it ranges from beginners (A1 in the CEF) to upper-intermediate (B2) learners. I’ve asked students who are a bit more advanced to help editing the wiki, and I check it for language mistakes and general organisation of the wiki from time to time. I do not, though, correct everything for them.

      Send me an email at henrick.oprea@gmail.com so I can send you further details. We’re also using an EDMODO group so that students can interact more freely and use the wiki to respond to the tasks. There are a couple of other teachers also interested in joining – the more the merrier! Students can certainly benefit from this cultural exchange.

      Cheers,

      Henrick

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,449 other followers

