Where have I been???

I guess those few people who occasionally read this blog have noticed that I haven’t exactly done any thinking in the past month. In case you aren’t aware of that, the school year in Brazil ends in December, so I had lots of things to sort out. In addition to that, add all the strains that come with being DoS and also having to deal with recruitment, selecting materials, and, on top of that, I also have learned that I’ll be joining and helping a group of students who are going to HMUN – Harvard Model United Nations. This meant a whole new pile of papers to correct and comment on. By December 23rd, when I finally had a break, I didn’t really want to do any kind of thinking. 🙂

I took advantage of this time to catch up on my reading. It’s been a while since I bought the last two novels for the Foundation series by Isaac Asimov – Foundation’s Edge and Foundation and Earth. It’d been a while since I last a book that was unrelated to ELT or education. I also took a trip to visit my girlfriend’s family and it was nice to have a change of airs for a (very short) while. Upon returning, I finished reading yet another of Asimov’s sci-fi books – Nemesis. Finally, I’ve also started readianother book – Bernard Cornwell’s The Winter King, but I don’t think I’ll manage to read it till the end. I’m about to resume work, there’s a pre-service teacher training ahead, and I’ll also have to go back to my Discourse Analysis texts and books and get over and done with yet another assignment for the MA.

Anyway, the things that give me the energy to keep going through hectic times are reading the wonderful posts written by those people whose blogs I follow, finding out about new great blogs, engaging in discussions with my PLN on Twitter, and also writing on this blog, which helps me do some thinking. Almost a month away, if I remember correctly. I actually felt good when I opened the dashboard on wordpress and started typing these words, so I hope I can make it at least one more year. 🙂

May you all have a wonderful 2011!!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Good to see you back, Rick!

    Ah – looks like we have some similar tastes in reading! I quite like a bit of SF, and I’ve read quite a few of Cornwell’s historical novels as well (including, a very long time ago now, The Winter King).

    I’ve quite enjoyed some of the fantasy novels put out by Brent Weeks recently (check out his stuff if you get a chance – great writer), and I’m waiting for Tad Williams and Stephen Donaldson to get their final books out in their most recent “trilogies” that ended up going to 4 books…

    Enjoy your summer reading, Rick!

    – Raven

    1. Rick says:

      Hi Jason,

      Thanks for the recommendations – it’s good to find out common interests apart from a love for teaching. I’ve been looking for some different authors to read, and these will certainly be a good starting point! 🙂

      Isn’t it just great when trilogies have more than 3 volumes? hehehe

      Cheers!

  2. Hi Rick!

    I think it’s great you “unplugged” a bit, caught up on fun reading and relaxed a bit. You sure deserved it! And may 2011bring lots of great things, starting by the trip you’ll take with your students. Sounds like a very interesting trip/experience! Have fun!

  3. seburnt says:

    Hi Rick,

    I totally relate to your lack of non-ELT reading pleasure. The last one I finished reading was “The Year of the Flood” by Margaret Atwood back in April! I share yours and Jason’s SF (Atwood’s is quasi-SF) and suggest you check out Arthur C. Clarke’s RAMA series. I believe there are four books in total and they’re easy and interesting reads.

    Anyways, it’s good to have you back. 🙂

    Tyson

    1. Rick says:

      Hi Tyson,

      I’ll definitely check those titles. I’ll probably only have the time to read all that after I finish the next assignment, but it’s always a good thing to have something up your sleeve in case you finish things earlier than expected, huh?! 🙂

      Thank you for the comment! It’s good to be back. 🙂

  4. Looks like there are a lot of Sci-Fi fans here in ELT-blogger world. is there a link perhaps? I read the Foundation Series back in high school. Not the biggest fan of Asimov’s work, but he always gave me something to think about. I always enjoy those breaks where you get to do some extracurricular reading too 🙂

    1. Rick says:

      Hi Nick,

      I wish I’d read it back in high school, but we were being forced the classics down our throats – Machado de Assis, José de Alencar, and other (great) Brazilian authors. Unfortunately, they make us read them way too soon to be able to enjoy them. 😦

      Not sure if there’s a link, but I also found it a bit surprising. 🙂

Leave a Reply

